Lessons from Cincinnati

I just had the amazing opportunity to travel across the country to surprise my sister as she accepted her engagement ring. It was great seeing her reaction as she walked into the house and saw everyone from both families there to support her. It was a great weekend and I enjoyed every minute of it, but it flew by way too fast. Therefore, I think it’s important to look back on it and take in the 5 biggest things I learned.

1.) My Sister is so cool.

I’ve always known my sister was cool but I didn’t truly realize it till this weekend. She’s been living in Cincinnati for about 4 years now, and it was great to visit for just one weekend and see all the love and support she has from the group of people she has surrounded herself with. Every person I met had such great things to say about her, including the family she works for. They explained as a “blessing” to their family for all the help she has given them. That being said, I’ve never seen someone loved by every single child that walks into the room. It’s easy to see that every parent loves bringing their kids around Meredith because they know they can let Meredith do all the work and their kids will be happy. I also love the fact that she is only willing to do what makes her happy. Just being able to stay an extra day at her house on Monday and watching her go through her daily workday makes me want to do what she does. She’s always moving but she loves what she does, which is awesome to watch. Last thing I’ll say is that she is killing it and it’s awesome to watch as a brother.

2.) Cincinnati is a lot cooler that I expected

I always knew Cincinnati was a cool area, but after seeing all of Oakley, Hyde Park, and Mt. Adams I realize that I would have no problem living there. There is a lot of hidden gems throughout the area and the neighborhoods all have their unique twist. The only knock I have against Cincinnati now is the weather. Cold weather blows.

3.) Family Partying is like no other.

Partying with family makes you realize how much fun it is just to be with everyone. I might just be speaking for myself but….after being together this weekend with my parents, Brett and Camille, and Mark and Mere, it felt like everyone realized how great it is to be together. All of us have grown up with the vision of moving out of Battle Creek and exploring new territories and so far all of us have done that, including Jake. But now that everyone has done their exploring and seen many different places, I think we are all realizing how great it is to just be with family. Again, I might just be speaking for myself but I had a different feeling this time going back to see everyone. Everyone seemed to truly just enjoy being with one another rather than talking about our exciting adventure that we just returned from. I even think I saw Brett flinch when we asked him if he would ever move to Cincinnati. I’m not saying that I would like to live on the same street as everyone but I do think it would be nice to at one point all settle down in a place where it isn’t a big event for all of us to see each other.

4.) It’s cool checking out other Crossfit Gyms

One of my favorite things about the trip was going to Mark’s Crossfit Gym. I love the idea that I could just walk in there with him, feel welcomed by everyone and workout. Their gym was a little more rugged than my gym at Camelback but that’s what made it unique. It felt like a garage gym and made you want to workout forever. That’s one of the reasons why I love crossfit is because each individual gym has their own story and own feel to it but no matter what anyone is welcome.

5.) I only feel homesick if I go home.

I just talked with my Dad about this idea this morning. He said he used to feel the same thing when he lived out in Boston and would go home for a couple days. When I’m out here in Phoenix I never feel homesick and I love everything that is going on around me. But once I go home for a couple days, I hate leaving. It’s all part of the process and I know that now but it will always suck saying bye to family members trying to neglect the fact that I won’t see them for a long time. I hate the whole ride to the airport and flight because I’m just thinking about everything but that entire feeling goes away once I land back here in Phoenix. Once I make it back I’m able to realize how much fun I’m having here and how great it is living out here. Just gives me more of a reason to cherish every moment I have with my family and friends back home.

Leave a Reply

